gilgal

I got to meet up with my friend, Alene, for dinner one night while I was in Salt Lake. We met up at the Desert Edge Brewery at Trolley Square.

desert edge

trolley square tower lights


Last time I saw Alene, she was on the verge of giving birth. Now Bailey is almost a year old and has the brightest blue eyes.

bailey

alene bailey

Alene and I had often talked about going to Gilgal Garden, but we had never found time. We decided after dinner to finally make good on our plans. Gilgal Garden was created by Thomas Battersby Child (1888-1963) in his spare time. Makes me want to make better use of my spare time. Watching America’s Next Top Model isn’t going to leave me any legacies. You can read more about the garden here or here. One of the most notable sculptures in the garden is one of Joseph Smith, the first prophet of my church, combined with a sphinx. Child said it was to represent that the questions asked by the sphinx (Who am I? Where am I going? Why am I here?) were answered by the Restored Gospel. I just think it’s fabulous.

joseph smith sphinx

joseph smith sphinx profile

This is a representation of King Nebuchadnezzar’s dream.

nebachadnezzars dream

Child engraved scriptures and hymns onto paved stones laid out along the garden.

engraved paving stones

I was pleased to find one of my favorite verses from the sacrament hymn, “How Great the Wisdom and the Love.”

how great how glorious

Some more sculptures around the garden and an awesome birdhouse.

keystone

bird perch

And a tribute to the sculptor himself.

the sculptor

I really like his brick pants.

brick pants

I also liked to watch Alene and Bailey play around the garden while I wandered.

alene bailey 2alene bailey 3

bailey rocks

alene bailey flowers

I loved the flowers in the garden, too. I couldn’t help but take some photos of them.

lavender flowers

gold flowers

firework flower

pale roses

pink flower

(Don’t worry… there are definitely more photos of flowers coming up. I forgot how chalk full Salt Lake, especially Temple Square, is of flowers in the summer.)

I know we have amazing houses here in New Orleans. Seriously beautiful mansions. But there are all sorts of cute little houses in Salt Lake, too. Like this one.

cute blue house

It was a little strange to return to Salt Lake after a year. I know it’s not a long time, but it’s the longest I’ve been away for a while, so going back to Salt Lake was both familiar and new to me. I felt like I got to see it in a different way. And I’m glad that I can still see new things there.