looking eastly

Friday afternoon in Salt Lake was especially sunny and fine. After a delicious lunch with my friend, Kellie, at Settebello, we decided to stop by the Salt Lake City Library and take in the views from the roof.


It has been said that Canal Street in New Orleans in the widest boulevard in these united states, but look at this:

widest blvd

I’d say 400 S. gives it a pretty good run for its money, if it doesn’t beat it completely. Can a wagon turn completely around on Canal Street? It could on 400 S.

There’s lots of construction happening in Salt Lake right now. A new mall is being built right downtown.

under construction

wrong focus

That last picture has the wrong focus, somehow. It should be focused on how adorable Kellie is. Wait, let’s see if there’s a better picture of her.

hot stuff on the steps

Yep, perfect. And it also shows how awesome the library is. I’ve posted about the library before, twice, but I’ve never shown this awesome view of the interior.

slc library interior

One last picture – one of Kellie and me together.

katie and kellie awesomeness

We’ve been friends since our byways days at Utah State University, where we would use IM to converse while working even though we sat right next to each other. We used to play tennis together. Kind of. And we went to South Carolina together, but my favorite thing is that we e-mail each other several times a week. I think it mostly started because we both needed a break from work, but two years later, and it’s something I always look forward to. Not only reading her e-mails, but just writing my own. I think it is the only time these days that I sit down and write about my life, thoughts, and feelings. I love having a sympathetic set of eyes on the other side, though. Anyway, it was really great to see Kellie. We hardly ever get to see each other in person. Sorry for accidentally stealing your sunglasses.